banner_linksweb

Media Reviews:

UBUNTU: One Woman's Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa

TIMELESS ON THE SILK ROAD: An Odyssey From London To Hanoi

(CLICK ON THE MEDIA LINKS ON THE RIGHT TO VIEW MORE MEDIA & REVIEWS)

 

ULTIMATE MOTORCYCLING- online magazine

Covid19 Countermeasures: Top Safer At Home Reading Material

May 2020

Touring Adventure and Off Road - Ubuntu: One Woman 's Motorcycling Odyssey Across Africa

Ultimate Motorcycling magazine Ubuntu

 

WOMAN'S DAY 'IT'S YOUR DAY' MAGAZINE

June 2020

Read the article: The Ride Of Her Life

Page 30-33

Its Your Day magazine Heather Ellis

 

THE PULSE MAGAZINE

Monthly Emag of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in NSW/ACT

May 2020

Read the article: Trusting and serving God through two viral pandemics - HIV and Covid19

Download The Pulse magazine

The Pulse Magazine

ABC Television - YOU CAN'T ASK THAT - Season 5: HIV Positive

15 April 2020

Watch the episode: You Can't Ask That

ABC TV You Can't Ask That - HIV positive Heather Ellis

 

 

TAKE 5 MAGAZINE

9 April 2020

Read the article: The Ride Of My Life

Take 5 magazine Heather Ellis

 

NEVERMIND ADVENTURE PODCAST 'ODDCAST' (play on Spotify, Apple or SoundCloud)

27 February 2020

Episode #17 - Heather Ellis - Africa To The Silk Road

Episode #17 - Heather EllisLong before Ewan and Charlie and the long way round kicked bought Adventure Motorcycling to the world Heather Ellis was off exploring the dark and remote corners of the planet on her bike. Heather is a national treasure, amazingly talented, fearless and so much fun to talk to. Motorcycle adventurer, author, activist and a humbling soul who rode solo across Africa and Central Asia along the Silk Roads to China on her Yamaha TT600. She is the author of two bestselling books, Ubuntu: One Woman’s Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa and Timeless On The Silk Road: An Odyssey From London to Hanoi.We chat to heather about her childhood, her adventures and her future projects all infused with the usual Nevermind bullshit!

 

MONARO POST (Cooma and Jindabyne, NSW)

26 February 2020

Join the Compass Expeditions Ross McKeand Memorial/Reunion

 

AUSTRALIAN FINANCIAL REVIEW - MOTORING XMAS GIFT GUIDE - 5 December 2019

Trails of the unexpected by Tony Davis, motoring writer

Motoring Xmas Gift Guide - 5 Dec 2019

 

ABC RADIO NATIONAL - CONVERSATIONS WITH SARAH KANOWSKI - 28 June 2019

(In my conversation with Sarah Kanowski, you can get the back story before my travels as well as a few stories from Africa and all that followed after London on my journey along the Silk Roads).

ABC Conversations podcast

 

 

ULTIMATE MOTORCYCLE MAGAZINE - November 2019

Book review for Timeless On The Silk Road: An Odyssey From London To Hanoi

To read the review by Gary Ilminen: click here

ubuntu book cover

 

 

ULTIMATE MOTORCYCLE MAGAZINE - October 2019

Book review by Gary Ilminen for Ubuntu: One Woman's Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa.

To read the review: click here

ubuntu book cover

 

MOTORCYCLE TRADER MAGAZINE - July 2019

Feature and book extract 'Silk & Honey'

Subscribe to Motorcycle Trader

Silk Road travel books

 

OVERLAND MAGAZINE - June 2019

Motorcycle Travel Book Review of Timeless On The Silk Road.

To read the review, visit Overland Magazine

Subscribe to OVERLAND magazine

best motorcycle travel books

(...and if you're in the UK, don't miss the Overland Event 2019 from 28 August to 1 September)

 

MOTORCYCLE TRADER MAGAZINE - May 2019

Book review

Subscribe to Motorcycle Trader

 

ADVENTURE RIDER RADIO - June 2019

Last Chance for Adventure - Heather Ellis 

 

 

ADVENTURE RIDER RADIO - December 2018

Ubuntu: One Woman's Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa

Here's the link to my first interview on Adventure Rider Radio

 

 

TRAVERSE - ISSUE 12 - June 2019

Portrait: Heather Ellis 'I Am Because We Are'. Read the online magazine : Traverse Issue 12

Traverse is the travel magazine for two wheels. To subscribe for free visit: Traverse

 

BOOK REVIEW from: This Quirky Life (BLOG) - May 2019

by Charlotte Francis

The Republic of Words 2 of 3: Timeless On The Silk Road by Heather Ellis

The second book in my Republic of Words series is Timeless on the Silk Road by Heather Ellis. If I were to sum up what this book is about in one word, it would be Trust. Capital intended. As a book about venturing into an unknown and uncertain future, I took great comfort from it. It strengthened my post-work resolve to let go of needing answers about what next and to simply wait and see.

You may be familiar with books that illustrate a spiritual path through story-telling. I remember reading The Celestine Prophecy back in the ’90s and I also read Paul Coelho’s The Alchemist, but I have to admit I’m not really a fan of spiritual teachings delivered via fiction. And that’s what I loved about Timeliness on the Silk Road, it’s the author’s lived experience of a solo motorbike journey along the 4000-km Silk Route from Europe through Russia and Central Asia to South East Asia. To Read More

 

TALK RADIO EUROPE - April 2019

Listen to radio interview broadcast on 18 April 2019 where I chat with Bill Padley about Timeless On The Silk Road on Talk Radio Europe. Listen to the podcast

 

YARRA VALLEY AUTHOR PUBLISHED SECOND BOOK - April 2019

By Jed Lanyon. Healesville author Heather Ellis has launched her second book, Timeless On The Silk Road: An Odyssey From London to Hanoi on Sunday 7 April. Read the story

Timeless On The Silk Road

 

TRAVERSE MAGAZINE - April 2019

Editor Leigh Wilkins reviews Timeless On The Silk Road in April/May Issue 11 of Traverse Magazine.

Timeless On The Silk Road <

 

 

 

 

 

Heather Ellis 

 

Media:

TELEVISION:

Temporary Australians

Channel One, Channel 31.

Series 5 Episode 1

 

You Can't Ask That

ABC TV - You Can't Ask That

Season 5: HIV Positive

 

 

PRINT& ONLINE MAGAZINES:

 

Woman's Day 'It's Your Day' magazine

June 2020

 

The Pulse magazine

May 2020

 

Take 5 magazine

9 April 2020

 

Australian Financial Review

Motoring Xmas Gift Guide

5 December 2019

 

Ultimate Motorcycle magazine

November 2019

 

Ultimate Motorcycle magazine

October 2019

 

Motorcycle Trader magazine

July 2019

 

Traverse magazine

Issue 12 - Timeless On The Silk Road

June 2019

 

Overland Magazine

June 2019

 

Motorcycle Trader magazine

May 2019

 

She Is A Rider Magazine

August 2018

 

Women Adventure Riders Magazine

February 2017

 

Adventure Rider Magazine

February 2017

 

Motorcycle Explorer Magazine

Issue 15 - January 2017

 

Australian Financial Review

8 December 2016

 

BeeEm Magazine (BMW riders)

December 2016

 

Australian Road Rider magazine

November 2016

 

Just Bikes magazine

15 Septemer 2016

 

Just Bikes magazine

18 August 2016

 

Cycle Torque magazine

August 2016

 

Australian Motorcycle News

July 2016

 

Australian Motorcycle News

April 2016

 

Motorcycle Trader - Issue 307

April 2016

 

NT News

30 April 2016

 

Ballarat Courier

1 May 2016

 

TRAVERSE magazine

Issue 1: Finding Ubuntu

April 2016

 

Royal Auto

October 2012

 

Mountain Views Mail - 10 May 2016

 

Genio e Sport (Moto Guzzi) - April 2016

 

Overland Magazine

March 2017 -

To subscribe visit: www.overlandmag.com

 

Womanscape

Driving a Motorcycle Across Africa: Heather Ellis & Ubuntu By Rose McInerney

 

RADIO:

 

ABC Hobart

1November 2019

Breakfast with Ryk Goddard

 

Hobart FM

1 November 2019

Breakfast with Brian Corr

 

Adventure Rider Radio

Last chance for adventure

June 2019

 

 

Talk Radio Europe - Travel Daily Show

18 April 2019

Listen to the Podcast

 

3MDR Casey Shire - 23 March 2019

Radio 3MDR

89.7FM Perth - 23 May 2018

In Conversation with Sue Myc

 

Yarra Valley FM

10 & 13 November 2017

www.yarravalleyfm.com/be-the-change

 

ABC Hobart

27 October 2017

Breakfast with Ryk Goddard

 

Hobart FM

27 October 2017

Breakfast with Brian Corr

 

The Travel Show - Bondi FM

2 November 2016

 

The Overlanding Podcast

24 November 2016

 

ABC 774 - Sundays with Libbi Gorr

27 November 2016

 

Adventure Rider Radio

Solo adventure across Africa

9 December 2016

 

Mix 104.9 Darwin - 360 With Katie Woolf

5 May 2016

Listen to the Podcast

 

Talk Radio Europe - Travel Daily Show

15 April 2016

Listen to the Podcast

 

Joy FM Melbourne - Word for Word

13 April 2016

Listen to the Podcast

 

3CR Melbourne- The Spoken Word

4 April 2016

Listen to the Podcast

 

 

ONLINE MEDIA & BLOGS:

Motorbike Writer.com - 30 March 2016

 

Speed Sport Blog - 14 May 2016

 

TRAVEL GROOVE Watch a short interview about Ubuntu on Travel Groove (Travel Made Easy). Features travel tips and tricks by travelling experts. Be inspired to travel more! www.travelgroove.com.au

 

 

 

AWARDS:

The Book Designer -

Gold Star awarded for May 2016

Heather Ellis 

Comments from judges:

JF: A terrific cover that puts us right in the scene. Combined with the lettering that reminds us of the craftwork we see throughout Africa. Beautifully done. ★Heather Ellis submitted Ubuntu: One Woman’s Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa designed by Peter Long. “As the author, I photographed this image of a group of giraffes by chance on my ride to the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, Kenya. I was travelling across Africa by motorcycle in 1993/1994. Book designer Peter Long’s design skill is exceptional in capturing the true essence of my story – that of ubuntu”

 

EXHIBITIONS:

RIDE - Yarra Ranges Regional Museum

15 December 2012 - 17 February 2013

Heather Ellis